Yahoo Voices is shutting down in a few days

Hey, I just got the notice that Yahoo is shutting down Voices. I’ve been wondering about it ever since reading that their profit was lower than expected in the last quarter. They sure didn’t give much notice. (They sure didn’t pay much per article, either.)

Anyway, overall I think this is good. It cancels out the exclusive license I gave them on my work – once it’s off the Web (starting August 1st), I can market those articles elsewhere. And a fiction story – it drew well over 6,000 hits and almost all of them read the whole thing!

Well, right now I’m adding a few extra pictures to an article on my train ride through the Columbia Flood Basalts and gorge and will post that in a few minutes.

Thank you, all, for your interest.

Be sure to check out my other blog, Flight to Wonder, too. Scheduled new articles will start to appear there on July 28, running Monday through Friday. Of course, the Sunday Morning Volcano and the Civil War Anniversary posts will continue here.
 

This is one of the unused shots taken while I was photographing leafy spots of downtown Eugene for an urban forestry article at Yahoo Voices several weeks ago.

This is one of the unused shots taken while I was photographing leafy spots of downtown Eugene for an urban forestry article at Yahoo Voices several weeks ago. I call it “Opportunities.”



Categories: Random thoughts

Tags:

Leave a Reply

