Eugene – West 4th Avenue This Afternoon

This part of West 4th Avenue is a bit more forested than some sidewalks.  And yes, that is bamboo down there on the left - a nice healthy, if sparse, stand.  There's a palm tree over on West 5th Avenue.

This part of West 4th Avenue is a bit more forested than some sidewalks.

Are you tired of hearing about Eugene yet? I still find new surprises, like this shady green section of West 4th Avenue this afternoon.

It’s a brave city that dares to coexist with nature. Up until now, all city streets I’ve ever walked were utilitarian – established to secure man’s dominance and ease of passage over Nature. Here in Eugene, for the first time, I see Nature and the city passing along side by side like old friends.

This city represents the epitome of urban forestry.

I snapped this shot while walking to the library today. That light green, spindly stuff down there on the left is healthy, if sparse, bamboo. Each stalk is as thick as my wrist. The leafy tops tower many feet above my head.

It provided a weird contrast to the nearby Douglas Fir!

There’s a palm tree over on 5th. I’m still waiting to come across a banana tree, Joshua tree (unlikely), Arctic spruce (possible, I suppose), or …

You never know what you’ll see next here. All my forestry background, so deeply buried, has come alive again.

Until Eugene, the only town I’ve seen that was in any decent balance with nature was Albuquerque, but it was so dry. This suits me so much better.



Categories: Random thoughts

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

