Sunday Volcano Posts Will Be Back Starting This Week

Mount Hood, painting by William Keith shared online by the Brooklyn Museum.

Mount Hood, painting by William Keith shared online by the Brooklyn Museum.

Yes! It’s fun to do, but there’s an ulterior motive, too.

My plans to work the “day job” as a transcriptionist once I got out to Oregon fell through, so I have more time just now to study up on writing. Today I’m working through the upper level of the Yahoo Contributor Academy, teetering on the brink of doing some content writing (this will be separate from the blog, but I’ll keep you posted as it progresses).

The present course is on branding. I’m an introvert, so this is taking quite a lot of effort.

I’ve been really struggling with the assignment to work up a description for my “brand.” This blog’s readers unwittingly came to the rescue.

The most popular posts here are the ones on volcanoes, especially ones about “big blasts.” Thus I’ve come up with this working description of Barb’s “brand”: A layman’s source for simple, authoritative descriptions of natural disasters and the Earth science concepts behind them.

I’m sorry, Civil War enthusiasts! I miss doing that weekly because I learn so much with each post. However, there’s just no way I could claim to be an expert in anything but collecting information from a variety of sources and summarizing it in one place. The Civil War series is a sort of calendar for me more than it is a calling. My heart is really in volcanoes and other geoscience topics, but as soon as things get straightened out for me (soon, hopefully), I will get back into that weekly.

Once in the field, I will Mount Hood looked so majestic from the train, and yet the image I captured was...well...this.  Sigh.

Mount Hood looked so majestic from the train, and yet the image I captured was…well…this. Sigh. Perhaps I should have painted it to capture that eerie sense of a great mass floating in the sky.

Don’t know if I’ll be able to get out to any of the nearby volcanoes during this season, but now that I’m in Oregon, it does make sense to go with something I’m excited about and can personally experience.

Once in the field, I will have to improve my photography skills.

Anyway, I will be doing Sunday Morning Volcanoes as part of that. I’m looking forward to it!

Thank you, each and every one of you, for your interest and continuing support.

And let’s just hope I don’t have to provide a first-person account of a major megathrust quake in the Pacific Northwest. I was looking at the current USGS seismic hazard map for Seattle while working up a list I submitted last week to Listverse (“10 Terrifying Ways the Earth Can Kill You Quickly”). Some buildings there are expected to experience a sideways force of around 190% the pull of gravity!



Categories: Random thoughts, Writing

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

