“The Glint”

OK, this video is supposed to be an ad for Comete Motocycles (which I’ve never heard of before and am not associated with in any way). It just oozes with “maleness” and “expensive tastes.”

I was allergic to cameras back then, unfortunately, but this is what the bike looked like, if the previous owner had maintained it properly and hadn't driven it abusively.

I was allergic to cameras back then, unfortunately, but this is what the bike could have looked like if the previous owner had maintained it properly and not driven it so abusively. My 650 Special was very beat up, and yet I loved it dearly and was very proud of it. I will always be glad I took that journey.

It means something different to me, though.

Twenty-seven years ago, I bought a beat-up Yamaha 650 Special (because I didn’t have much money and figured an old bike would be easier for me to fix by hand – as indeed I had to – than an old car) and I headed cross-country to Phoenix.

Well, I replaced the alternator in Memphis (using, among other tools, a hex wrench like that shown in the video), never reached Phoenix, but did get to Albuquerque, where I sold the bike and haven’t driven one since. Then came San Francisco (though not by bike) and eventually the age of 60 and a necessary but not particularly pleasant sojourn in upstate New York.

And I’m heading out again next month, going West for a variety of reasons but essentially to finally do what I have always wanted to but never could – write creatively. (This blog, by the way, is just preparation for that.)

I’m too old to drive a bike any more (seriously – you need quick reflexes and a lot of strength and endurance), so I will be traveling much more conventionally and sedately.

Inside, though, it will feel a lot like it did in ’87 … and like it does in this video.
 

 
(Incidentally, perhaps Comete Motocyles might someday consider advertising directed at the other part of the motorcycling public – us ladies. I surely am not the only one who enjoys driving as well as riding.)



Categories: Random thoughts

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

