Reviews of old movies will be coming up

A post on movies follows a post on sourdough because…this is about writing, and also it’s early days and I’m still finding my “writing legs.”

I like to watch old movies. All the hype and complex web of multiple and often competing self-interests that accompany new releases makes it impossible to really judge whether a movie is worth watching. Also, I’m old fashioned, and rely on the Parental Guidance part of a film’s IMDb page to get an idea of whether a movie (generally those from the latter half of the 20th century on) will offend me; don’t let your preconceptions of a prude kick in here. That told me I was going to enjoy We Were Soldiers Once And Young (the only Gibson movie I could watch – war movies should be bloody, and he did it well, not gratuitously): The IMDb parental guidance page has intrigued me about Monsters, because the trailer is scary and the parental guidance page is so…mellow.

Until I find and watch Monsters, the most current movie I’ve watched recently dates back to 2008 (Cloverfield, and coming this afternoon, hopefully, The Dark Knight). The earliest one may be Cabiria (1914), although I’ll have to double check the dates on some Buster Keaton shorts and other old films. I know Douglas Fairbanks (senior) didn’t invent the movie, but he sure made some good ones.

A few reviews are already in the essays posted for sale at ScribD (and linked here under “store”). Before restarting this blog, I wrote a whole bunch at the film’s IMDb page, even though IMDb gets the copyright on those. They include:

  • “Band of Brothers” (2001)
  • Cabiria (1914)
  • Cheyenne Autumn (1964)
  • Dieppe (1993)
  • Hangman’s House (1928)
  • Martyrs of the Alamo (1915)
  • Salem’s Lot (1979)
  • Sergeant York (1941)
  • She Wore a Yellow Ribbon (1949)
  • Sunrise: A Song of Two Humans (1927)
  • The Crimson Pirate (1952)
  • The Garage (1920)
  • The Guns of Navarone (1961)
  • The Informer (1935)
  • The Iron Horse (1924)
  • The Perfect Storm (2000)
  • “The Rockford Files: The Aaron Ironwood School of Success (#2.1)”
  • The Searchers (1956)
  • The Three Musketeers (1921)
  • The Train (1964)
  • Tumbleweeds (1925)
  • U.S. Marshals (1998)
  • We Were Soldiers (2002)

Any more I do will be posted at this blog. Right now, it appears that some sort of a Batman post may be upcoming, and certainly a post on Keaton, who I’m partial to and will probably do a few posts on. In the meantime, here are a few of Empire Strikes Back thingies that only the Internet could provide today:


The 8-bit Empire Strikes Back:


see more Lol Celebs

Of note, Michael Sheard was Admiral Ozzel in the movie.

And Boba Fett gets two:



Categories: Reviews of old movies

Leave a Reply

