Veterans Day 2010

For the first time ever, I thought of the veterans of my own generation today for this holiday and so shall say, “It’s a nice day.”

Watch We Were Soldiers Once and Young, the only Gibson film I’ve been able to watch, or read the book (I haven’t but assume Major Plumley’s pungent comments in the movie came directly from the book, written by two men who were at the battle). That is why we have Veterans Day–the “nice day” for veterans is one that they survive. For the rest of us, it would be the living hell shown in Gibson’s movie.

Their accumulation of “nice days” has made our pleasant ones possible. Thank you.

Only after you have seen this movie, and understood a little bit the respect shown for both sides in the battle of the Ia Drang, should you watch this (clips from the real thing, not from the movie):

Unfortunately, there are no stirring videos for those who served in the Cold War, who are also veterans of my generation.

I am thinking of you all today, though.



Categories: Uncategorized