Progress on writing and the new job starting tomorrow

Well, I’ve gotten a lot of Chapter 4 written, but I can’t finish it today (by “finish,” I mean get to the end of the chapter, even without doing the Ted scene that’s in the middle). I’ll see what I can get done in between sleeping and working over the next 18 hours or so and then post that up at scribd.com and here; but after that, and for about a month, I’ll have to devote serious time to the orientation and new job. I plan to keep the old job, too, if possible, as it’s necessary financially.

Oh, how I wish somebody could just publish writing and get paid for it — boom! just like that. It would make the switchover so easy. Well, as the adults used to say when I was a kid, if wishes were fishes, we’d all have a fry. I’m just really glad to be writing now.

The wild thing about this first novel of mine, which I started in November as my entry in the NaNoWriMo contest (where you try to write a 50,000-word novel in the month of November) is that I’ve done all this work…and am only up to about 37,000 words. That’s good, in a way, because I worry that I’m writing way too much, although I’m over halfway through the planned seven chapters now; but it’s also amazing that it has taken me this long and I still haven’t met the 50,000 goal. I can’t say that the “winners” of NaNoWriMo (everybody who meets the 50,000-word minimum wins) are wasting words, because I haven’t read their work and also some of them do get published; but I can say that NaNoWriMo is not for me. Still, since it provided the impetus to do this novel in the first place, I will contribute 1% (sharply down from the 10% I had thought of during the first heady days of the contest) of anything I ever make from The Birchfield Murders to that organization.

Will, time for a little R&R. I worked last night on the old job and then wrote today. Am trying this week to follow what will be my overall schedule from now on and into at least the near future.



Categories: posts

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

