Hello world!

This is my first post. I’m a little overwhelmed by everything WordPress offers, so it’s going to take me a little while to get up to speed. In the meantime, let me introduce myself and my goals for this blog.

I like to write and have done so informally in many places over the years. Last year, I decided to try to do it formally and to attempt to build a financial basis out of writing fiction and nonfiction so that I could eventually make a career as a freelance writer. This was possible because the “YouTube for writng”, as scribd.com calls itself, opened up a store where anybody can offer their works for sale. I didn’t sell a darned thing, but I built up a sizable collection of nonfiction essays and a few short stories. Towards the end of the year, I also started a novel, which is now being serialized there.

This blog is started for two reasons. Let me state the lesser one first: I need another venue in which to offer my works for sale. More important to me just now is to have an outlet in which to document the process of switching over from my “day” job (actually night work as a medical transcription independent contractor, which I’ve been doing since 1991) to a profitable writing career. There’s no guarantee of success in this endeavor, but I want it so badly; writing about it will help me endure the process, however long it takes, and may even prove of interest to others.

Right now, I’m going to explore the sorts of things WordPress lets me do here, but I’ll try to post at least a few times a week. Thanks for your interest!



Categories: posts

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

